It was the 6th annual SLTA ceremony on Friday 20th April; an evening to celebrate the high standard of teaching and pastoral support in Bangor University. Nominations have significantly increased over the last few years which goes to show that more and more students are recognising the importance of the quality of teaching on their education.

Of the 600 nominations, we have seen academics and non-academics nominated for their hard work in the University over the 12 categories.

Helen Marchant the VP Education and Welfare in the Union and one of the organisers of the evening said ‘The SLTA’s are a fantastic experience to be a part of. The awards celebrates the partnership that staff and students have and it should be something that every University should strive for’.

It is a pleasure to announce the 12 winners in the following categories.

Award for Welsh Medium Education


Awel Vaughan-Evans


Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support

Caroline Bowman


Dissertation / Thesis Supervisor of the Year

Lucy Huskinson


Special Recognition Award


Karen Pollock


Student Engagement Award


Mandy Angharad


International Award

Alan Edwards


New Teacher Award

Alyson Moyes


Postgraduate Teacher of the Year


Rebecca Jones


Unsung Hero Award

Rebecca Jones


Teacher of the Year

Dylan Wyn Jones


Support Staff Member of the Year

Gwenda Blackmore


School of the Year


Ysgol y Gymraeg