It was the 6th annual SLTA ceremony on Friday 28th April; an evening to celebrate the high standard of teaching and pastoral support in Bangor University. Nominations have significantly increased over the last few years, which goes to show that more and more students are recognising the importance of the quality of teaching on their education.

Of the 900 nominations, we have seen academics and non-academics nominated for their hard work in the University over the 13 categories.

Helen Marchant the VP Education and Welfare in the Union and one of the organisers of the evening said ‘The SLTA’s are a fantastic experience to be a part of. The awards celebrates the partnership that staff and students have and it should be something that every University should strive for’.

It is a pleasure to announce the 14 winners in the following categories.

Award for Welsh Medium Education


Nia Griffiths

School of Psychology

Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support

Lucy Huskinson

School of Philosophy and Religion

Dissertation / Thesis Supervisor

Peter Shapely

School of History and Archaeology

Open Award

Thomas Caspari

School of Medical Sciences

Student Engagement Award

Andrew Davies

School of Ocean Sciences

International Award

Ali Khan

International Education Centre

New Teacher of the Year Award

Rebecca Sharp

School of Psychology

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year


Joshua Andrews

School of Philosophy and Religion

Student Service Department

Fiona Zinovieff

Miles Dyslexia Centre

Unsung Hero Award

Paul Maclean

Property and Campus Services

Teacher of the Year

Graham Bird

School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography

Support Staff Member / Team of the Year


Iwan Davies

School of Welsh

Support Staff Member / Team of the Year
School of Electronics Engineering and Computer Science Admin Team
School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science

School of the Year

School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography