It was the 6th annual SLTA ceremony on Friday 28th April; an evening to celebrate the high standard of teaching and pastoral support in Bangor University. Nominations have significantly increased over the last few years, which goes to show that more and more students are recognising the importance of the quality of teaching on their education.

Of the 900 nominations, we have seen academics and non-academics nominated for their hard work in the University over the 13 categories.

Helen Marchant the VP Education and Welfare in the Union and one of the organisers of the evening said ‘The SLTA’s are a fantastic experience to be a part of. The awards celebrates the partnership that staff and students have and it should be something that every University should strive for’.

It is a pleasure to announce the 14 winners in the following categories.

Award for Welsh Medium Education


Nia Griffiths


Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support

Lucy Huskinson


Dissertation / Thesis Supervisor

Peter Shapely


Open Award

Thomas Caspari


Student Engagement Award

Andrew Davies


International Award

Ali Khan


New Teacher of the Year Award

Rebecca Sharp


Postgraduate Teacher of the Year


Joshua Andrews


Student Service Department

Fiona Zinovieff


Unsung Hero Award

Paul Maclean


Teacher of the Year

Graham Bird


Support Staff Member / Team of the Year


Iwan Davies

School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science Admin Team

School of the Year

School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography