SLTA's & Course Rep Awards 2019

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

Student Led Teaching Awards and Course Rep Awards 2019

This year saw the 8th annual Student Led Teaching Awards take place on Friday the 3rd of May. The evening saw students and staff come together to celebrate Course Reps and the excellent standard of teaching and pastoral support offered at Bangor University

Undeb Bangor continue to receive a high volume of nominations year on year, showing that both students and staff value and appreciate the hard work and efforts shown across the University

From over 600 nominations received, Course Reps from 13 of the 14 schools were nominated and recognised for their part in improving the Student Experience, while both academics and non-academics received praise for their hard work throughout the year. A number of the staff were shortlisted for multiple categories, whilst some staff have reached the shortlist year on year, a great indicator of their dedication and consistent hard work throughout the years. One such member of Staff was Dr Lucy Huskinson, from the School of History, Philosophy and Social Sciences, who took the prestigious award for teacher of the year.

Students had the following to say about Dr Huskinson: "I am voting for the best lecturer I have ever had. The lectures they give are really fun and use lots of different ways of teaching so it’s never boring. I'm normally really shy and sit at the back of the class keeping quiet but this lecturer makes it really comfortable to talk and everybody contributes their thoughts, opinions and ideas.”

Professor Carol Tully, Pro Vice Chancellor (Student Experience) said: “The SLTAs and Course Rep awards were a great success again this year. It is truly inspirational to see how much great work goes on among students and staff across the University. We really do have some amazing people at Bangor. A huge thank you to Undeb Bangor for organising the event and well done to everyone who was nominated

Mark, VP Education in the Students’ Union, and one of the organisers of the evening said: ‘‘It was an honour to present the Student-led Teaching Awards, and Course Rep Awards. Many staff members, and student, go above and beyond to ensure the student experience is the very best it can be. Without their help, support and guidance, Bangor University would not consistently receive recognition for ‘student satisfaction’. A huge congratulations to all those who were nominated, and especially those who were lucky enough to receive an award”.

Congratulations to all the 2019 winners:

Award for Welsh Medium Education



Gareth Evan-Jones



School of Psychology

Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support


Angharad Price



School of Welsh and Celtic Studies


Dissertation / Thesis Supervisor


Simon Viktor



School of History, Philosophy and Social Sciences



Special Recognition Award



Sian Pierce


School of Natural Sciences


Student Engagement Award



Joshua Andrews



School of History, Philosophy and Social Sciences


International Award

Li Tang


Bangor Law School


New Teacher of the Year Award



Eleri Thomas



School of Education and Human Development


Postgraduate Teacher of the Year



Leanne Rowlands



School of History, Psychology and Social Services


Unsung Hero Award


Joan Parry


School of Environment,

Property and Campus Services


Teacher of the Year

Lucy Huskinson



School of History, Philosophy and Social Sciences

Support Staff Member of the Year


Ellie Chung

College of Business, Social Sciences and Law


Student Service Department Award

Lowri Owen

Careers and Employability Service



No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.